My Makeup Staples

23 Jun

I’m a big believer in if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. So when it comes to my makeup, I find myself returning to my same favorites over and over. These are items that I use pretty much every day.


Maybelline Eyeshadow in Nutmeg
As you can see, I’ve clearly hit pan on this baby because I love her so much. I love using this color to blend right above my crease. It really pulls everything together and completes my look. My true favorite is Maybelline Cream de Cocoa, but unfortunately, mine shattered at cheer camp =( For a similar effect, just get any matte eyeshadow that’s similar to your skintone.


EOS Lipbalm & MAC Lipglass in Love Nectar
You can just look at these and tell how much I use these. EOS lipbalm is super smooth, smells yummy, and is natural. It’s my favorite lipbalm ever. Love Nectar is such a pretty pinky peach color with little gold shimmers. If you’ve never had a MAC lipglass, its like happiness in a tube.


MAC Mineralize Blush in Gentle
This was my first MAC blush, and I’m hooked. MAC describes it as a raspberry with gold pearl. It looks slightly purple in the pan, but it’s gorgeous on. The gold acts like a highlight and really makes your cheeks pop. I’ve been wearing it every day since Christmas. I feel naked without it.


L’Oreal Extra Intense Liquid Pencil/Stila Eye Kajal
I use these two pretty much interchangeably. They’re both really dark and creamy. If you’re looking for an intense black eyeliner, I’d suggest getting one of these.


Maybelline Lash Stiletto Voluptuous
This is my mascara of the moment, and it’ll probably change in a month or so. I really want to try CoverGirl Lash Blast Fusion, but this one does a nice job of volumizing and enhancing my natural curl.


Foundation
My foundation at the moment is Sally Hansen Natural Beauty Your Skin Makeup, Inspired By Carmindy. Goodness do you think they could have thought of a longer name for some makeup? I’m testing this one out for a couple reasons. 1. It was on clearance for like 2 bucks at Ulta. 2. I enjoy me some what not to wear. 3. It has a pump. Now as much as I love my favorite foundation, Revlon ColorStay, it lacks a pump. But no foundation I try seems to be able to make me fall in love like Colorstay does.


Urban Decay Primer Potion & Translucent Powder
I have extremely oily eyelids, and when I say extremely oily I mean my eyelids eat eyeshadow for breakfast. If I don’t properly prime my eyelids, I can start creasing before I’m even finished doing my makeup. I’m so serious guys. I wouldn’t be saying it if it hadn’t happened before. I had tried the infamous UDPP before and even that wouldn’t do the trick. I had given up all hope until someone on Specktra told me to set it with a powder, and I’ve been in love ever since.

Tape
My last staple may seem a little strange to some of you, but I love my tape! I use scotch tape to get really clean edges when I do my eyeshadow. Some people think its too harsh, but I absolutely adore my tape. If you’ve never tried it before, give it a shot.

Peace Love & Lipgloss

4 Responses to “My Makeup Staples”

  1. Kellie July 1, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    I really want to try the ‘tape trick’. I watched Beeisbeeauty on youtube use it on one of her recent videos. I thought the effect was so shape and lovely.

    http://lolamarie02.blogspot.com/

    xx

  2. Beccy July 1, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    I absolutely love that mascara!
    it’s my must have as well 🙂

  3. Camille July 8, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

    I just did a make up staples post as well. Hope you check it out!

  4. dee July 20, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

    I heard about the tape idea in a magazine awhile ago, i;ve been meaning to try it out!

Leave a Reply

