Brand New Brows and a Lash Fiasco

9 May

My school’s prom was yesterday, so of course I had to do the necessary primping and pampering. I was not too happy about getting up at 8am on a Saturday for a hair appointment. I mean come on mom who schedules things that early on a Saturday?! And for whatever reason, my body decided it wanted to wake up at 5:15. Yes that’s am. It was like so cruel joke.
I wanted my hair in a half updo with curls. It’s one of my favorite hairstyles, and I think it’s soooo cute for prom. It took 3 hours, but it turned out nice. I only wish my hair was longer to really complete the look. I ended up missing my makeup appointment at mac, so I figured what the hey let’s have my stylist just do my lashes too. Oh. My. Goodness. Never again. Theses were like the longest, thickest, New York from Flavor of Love lashes in the world. I looked absolutely ridiculous! One blink and I could start a tornado. And imagine my horror when she said “you have to wait for the glue to wear off before you take them off. so in about 2 weeks to a month…” What?! You mean I have to look like this for prom, senior trip, and graduation! I was mortified. Thankfully, the glue hadn’t set by the time I got in the car. I couldn’t rip those puppies off and fling them out the window fast enough! And to think she wanted to do all of my makeup! This is why I’m terrified of people doing my makeup. The only person I trust with my face is me!

Immediately after my lash horror story, my mother suggested that I get my eyebrows waxed. Fun Fact: I’ve never plucked, waxed, tweezed, shaved or threaded my eyebrows in my life. But I’ve heard plenty of tales of brows gone wrong. I was so nervous! What if she ripped off my skin right before prom? What if I hated them? So we went into the nail salon and Janet told Mimi I needed my brows done. “I know. I saw when she came in”. Gee thanks Mimi I wasn’t self conscious about my brows until now. Before I knew it, I was laying on my back while a woman with a thick accent applied warm wax to my face. It wasn’t so bad until I heard my aunt ask why she had taken the hair off of a certain part of my brow. I automatically assumed the worst. I’m lying there thinking that this woman has ripped off a chunk of my brow. Thankfully it was just a tiny little corner.

It was an interesting experience to say the least. I don’t think I’d do it again. It’s nice to have more space to do my eyeshadow, but I was fine with my brows to begin with. When I got to school however, I saw a girl who clearly didn’t have as nice as an experience as I did. Poor thing. It looked like she had a Texas Longhorn logo branded on her forehead. Ladies it just goes to show you, ALWAYS do your brows at least a day before the event. And if all else fails, ice and concealor are your friend.

Peace Love & Lipgloss

Leave a Reply

